This Is Me

Since we’ve already got the boring formalities out of the way, I figured now would be a good time to let y’all know a little bit more about me and who I am! Here’s a picture:

Me in Atlantic City

I’m 22 years old, I live in New York and I graduated Manhattanville College with a BA in Theatre and a minor in Literature. I didn’t always want to be an actor and honestly I still don’t really know what I want to be. Regardless of what I will or won’t be, I know what it will revolve (hey, that’s something right?) and that’s Shakespeare. I absolutely love Shakespeare, from an English Lit standpoint to an actor standpoint, I cannot get enough of that old Will Shakes.

But tell that to 14 year old Amy and I would have never believed you. I was going to be a ballerina. I was training since I was two years old and when I was 16 I got seriously injured, which led to more health issues (another story for another day). And that led me to making one of the hardest decisions of my life, ending my dance career. And that decision to end my dance career and take care of my health led me to theatre (once a performer, always a performer huh?).

Before we get to how I fell into theatre, I want to talk about how I ended up at college. My dance career was taking me to places I couldn’t even dream about, I had no plans to go to college at all. I was just going to go straight into the field after high school and dance. So when it came time to apply to colleges I didn’t put much effort into finding my “perfect fit” for school and my first semester freshman year was awful. Even though it was two years after my injury, I still wanted to dance and was still in denial about not being able to dance anymore. I was hoping if I stopped for two years I’d get better, heal even, and could dance again, sadly that wasn’t the case, but I honestly believe that everything happens for a reason and Manhattanville became my home and the best decision I could have made.

It all goes back to what I was saying in my first post. Paths change, and the more you are able to work with them instead of against them, the more you will get out of them. And I found theatre when I was in a really dark place in my life, I needed an art credit in high school and that was the only class that was open and fit in my schedule. Not only did that class become a place for me to deal and cope with what was going on with me mentally and physically but the students in my class became my family and people I could trust. I found not only an outlet to help my health but another outlet to be an artist, which was a challenge because I was now working with a different medium and good think I like challenges. I’m pretty sure my last words will be, “Oh yeah? Watch me!”

Anyway, fast forward four years and I’m graduating high school with the full intention to be a Theatre Education major. All because of my incredible theatre teacher who became the father figure in my life and still is to this day. But fast forward two years, ending my sophomore year and realizing that I just want to be a Theatre major (which was the best decision for me). It wasn’t the same training you got as an actor in the Theatre Education department and I felt that if I wasn’t getting the same training as the Theatre majors, how could I possibly be a teacher? So I dropped the Education part of my training and here we are today, a BA in Theatre.

I’m a story teller, I’m not a writer (I know I’m writing a blog, and I wrote a thesis but I don’t find joy in writing stories. I like academic writing and blog writing haha). I like being a voice for someone who can put the story they want to tell into words, and thats why I love being an actor. Modern plays are great but to me Shakespeare is just so much more. Not only is he a giant word puzzle, which is one of the reasons I love him, but he’s timeless. The themes he would write about and the problems he suggests are still extremely relative to today and I think that is amazing. There is also a lot of controversy about him and his plays and all that fun stuff, which is just exciting to be a part of. One of my Shakespeare Professor’s described Shakespeare as, “…challenging, but he’s not insurmountable” and I think that is a great way to describe him and definitely one of the reasons why I love him and want to devote my life to his work. This is a lot of words and stories so here’s a picture of me at Shakespeare’s Globe!

Me outside Shakespeare's GlobeMe at Shakespeare's Globe

I know I am going to sound like a broken record and even though it’s kind of the point of this blog, I still feel like a broken record. It really does come down to moving forward and moving with the tides, when a wave comes go with it, you’ll get farther, let it help you. I don’t know exactly what I want to do with Shakespeare. I’ve performed his work, I’ve directed his work, I’ve studied his work, I’ve taught his work. And I loved every single one of those things that I’ve done with Shakespeare. But I can’t do all of them in one job! And that’s the hardest part. I don’t know where I want to go or how to get there. Maybe it’s graduate school (right now it probably will be in the fall of 2016) or maybe it’s not. I don’t know and that’s terrifying for someone who likes control and planning every minute of her day. But I guess I’m just waiting for that next wave to come and push me towards something.

Until next time,

Cheers! xoxo

Amy

“It is not in the stars that hold our destiny, but in ourselves.” -Shakespeare

Leave a Reply

