“Inside Out”

First off, I want to apologize for the lateness of this post, it has been a crazy weekend…

But, I did go to the movies on Sunday and I want to talk about it. I had the pleasure of seeing the new Disney Pixar’s film, “Inside Out”.

Inside Out

If you don’t know anything about this movie, it deals with emotions and the voices inside your head. Besides amazing animations done by the lovely Pixar team, the story line and message is wonderful and hit pretty close to home for me.

The overall message of this film is how all feelings and emotions are important to life, how you need the good emotions and memories as well as the bad emotions and memories. Though it follows a little girl for a year (age 11 to age 12), as a college grad I was still just as touched if not more than the age group it was intended for. All emotions, good and bad, are a part of being human and is what makes us human; but surrounding yourself with people who love and care for you and finding joy in the little things, life is pretty okay.

There were two parts while watching the movie that hit me pretty hard. The first was when Riley, the main character, becomes “numb” and the emotions can’t fix it because not all of the emotions are in “head quarters” (or your brain). I know that feeling quite well and it was hard to watch. The second part that I really connected to was when Riley has to move and she is adjusting to her new life, it is difficult and all she wants is to go back to the comfort of her home that she knows so well. After graduating college, every once in a while I keep wishing I could go back to the comfort and familiarity of school because school is what I’ve known all my life and now it’s no longer there.

But that chapter of my life has ended, just as Riley’s chapter ended. Though it’s scary and nothing is certain and there are so many paths to take that could lead you anywhere, or if you feel stuck and downhearted, it’s a brand new chapter, which you get to be the author of and if you find the joy, you’ll be alright.

“Everything’s got to end sometime, otherwise nothing would ever get started.” -Doctor Who

Until next time,

Cheers! xoxo

Amy

Leave a Reply

