Don’t You Forget About… You ;)

Happy Friday everyone! I know I said today’s post will be a review but I haven’t used the new products enough to have a say, so hopefully next week will be full of reviews! Yay!

Today I wanted to take a different path and get a little serious, it’s totally fine if you want to skip this post, if so see ya Monday for a beauty review!

I have been in a relationship with my boyfriend for almost two years and it hasn’t been the easiest two years, we’ve both had big life changing events happen, me go completely crazy writing my thesis and producing/directing my own piece senior year on top of playing the lovely Hero in “Much Ado About Nothing” plus 20 credits and a job, he worked and still works all the time, now instead of 45 minutes away we’re three hours away, on a good day mind you.

Life gets pretty rough sometimes and even though we argue, it’s kinda nice to have someone to argue with and know it will still all be okay. Life and the “real” world is hard, demanding of all your time, stressful, challenging in all the best ways, liberating… I mean the list goes on and on. And with all of that, I haven’t been handling it too well, slipping back into some old bad habits and some old bad thoughts and my old stand by of pushing people I love away.

So with all of that plus my super positive outlook on life boyfriend, led to me shutting down even more, which got him upset (and rightfully so) and we argued. But then I decided that I needed to take some time for myself. Which was a surprisingly hard decision to come to. It actually was concerning because I’m not the type of person to depend on anyone and that made my decision crystal clear that I needed to take some time away.

I needed to detach from “us” and cut off communication with him for a couple of days. Which sadly, isn’t as hard as I thought it was going to be and I think that is just because I know I will talk to him again, so in the end it’s not a big deal.

Being in a relationship is great, its fun and exciting and full of surprises and adventures. But you can’t forget about yourself. I cannot stress that enough. YOU CANNOT FORGET ABOUT YOURSELF AND WHO YOU ARE. If you both love each other and value one another and the relationship, taking a couple of days to just refocus on yourself can do a world of good. I’m going on day three of not talking to him and I think I will call him because I want to see what he’s been up to and because I do miss him. And that’s okay. I feel like I’ve re-grounded myself, I feel fresh and new with the time I took for me and now I’m going back in with a clearer head. And what a wonderful way to start the weekend; stress and worry free and actually happy again.

See you Monday. :)

Until next time,

Cheers! xoxo

Amy

Leave a Reply

