Creatures of Habit!

Happy Monday everyone! Today, we’re finally getting back to Lifestyle Monday’s!

I wanted to talk about something that I attribute to keeping me mostly sane… Key word is mostly haha! And that is having a routine.

Now sometimes that word has a negative connotation to it, it could seem boring or safe or lackluster. But having a routine doesn’t mean that it stops you from your spontaneity or adventure. Because I am definitely not a “safe” person, I live for adventure and spontaneity. But on the other side of the same coin, I deal with a lot of anxiety, which I don’t want to stop me from finding adventure in the great wide somewhere or stop me from being spontaneous. I mean, we are creatures of habits!

It doesn’t have to be some crazy in bed by 9pm and up by 6am routine, especially when I work retail so my hours change daily. But my routines are super super simple and can be done no matter where I am, NY, school, London, etc. but it’s something that calms me down and gets rid of any anxiety that I may be feeling and isn’t based on a timeline (which I personally hate).

So here is what I do everyday when I get home at the end of the day, from work, running errands or pretty much anytime I come home haha!

~Put my keys, bag and anything I have on my chair in the wash room (my mom has one for her too haha)

~Take off my shoes and put them in the shoe closet

~Fill the kettle up with water and turn it on

~Go upstairs to the bathroom, take off my makeup and tie my hair up

~By this time the kettle has boiled so I make my tea

~Then, I will read, catchup on YouTube, catchup on Instagram and other social media until I’m done with my tea!

And that is my routine, I do this everyday, no matter what time I come home. It’s my cue to unwind and calm down from the day I had. But that is what I mean about having a routine that doesn’t require a specific time, especially when I come home at different times everyday so it is harder for me to have a set time. For example, my Mom has a time specific routine because she is home by the same time everyday (yay corporate America haha). And it’s simple enough that I can do wherever I am, when I am on vacation, or when I was at school, so I don’t have to break my routine, which can be detrimental sometimes.

I hope this helps you or makes you think about having a routine that isn’t your typical routine and changing the connotation this word has haha! What routines do you have, that you just don’t feel right if you don’t do it?

Until next time,

Cheers! xoxo

Amy

Leave a Reply

