Traveling Makeup Tricks and Tips!!

Happy Friday everyone! I hope you all had a lovely week and are ready for whatever the weekend has in store!

Last week I went to South Carolina and as I am currently writing this I am in the airport getting ready to head home looking out from these floor to ceiling windows onto the runway. It’s quite relaxing, especially considering the last time I was in this airport.

So with that being said I want to talk again about some great makeup tips and tricks that I have learned/done to make packing easier when you are only taking a carryon. And plus, I love looking at what other people pack in their travel makeup bag!

Before we start, small disclaimer. Some of these things (eyeliner, mascara, liquid lip, concealer, eye cream and stuff like that) were put in a zip lock bag to be taken out for TSA since they are “liquids”. This also doesn’t include shampoo/ conditioner/ body wash/ face wash and things of that nature! I tried to keep this strictly beauty!

traveling-makeup-tips-and-tricks

So let’s start with skin care!!

skincare-tips-and-tricks

Gold Bond Ultimate Healing Cream ~ I use this mainly for my hands. I have dry skin to begin with and with cabin air and flying makes my skin ridiculously more dry. So this is a must.

Clinique Pep Start Eye Cream ~ I just started using this and I LOVE IT. This is the first eye cream that I have used that I have noticed a notable difference in my under eyes when it comes to puffiness (great for all the change in pressure when flying) and my under eye bags. So it’s a decent size and made sure I made room for this guy!

Nivea Creme ~ Once again, my dry skin is just a nuisance, so this one I brought for my legs, arms, etc. you get it.

Dionis Lip Balm ~ The flavor of this is Peach, it’s heavenly. I picked up this and the matching hand cream at a Cracker Barrel on the way home from Canada a couple of weeks ago. And so far I really love this brand and product!

Batiste Dry Shampoo ~ In the scent Blush. I love this dry shampoo and it comes in a lovely travel size. And I don’t think I need to go into why dry shampoo is a god send… I think we all know.

Now makeup!!

base-trips-and-tricks

Laura Mercier ~ Translucent Powder in the shade Universal. Now this product I feel is a love / hate thing. A lot of people don’t like it and feel that it leaves a white residue on your skin. For me it doesn’t do that at all, I really like this product. I’ve had it for a while (3 months to be exact, it was my last post before my little hiatus) and use it every day that I wear makeup. I think it does a great job at setting my under eye concealer. At lot of people prefer her loose setting powder which I have yet to try. But for me, because I’m so pale, this works very well.

NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer ~ In the shade Light 2 Vanilla. We all know I love this concealer. I found a mini of it in the aisle of doom before I left for South Carolina and I had to get it. Come on, don’t judge, are you telling me you could pass up that adorably sized concealer that is one of the best concealers on the high end market? Yeah, I didn’t think so. I don’t wear foundation but this concealer has amazing coverage and lasts all day. It’s a great shade match for me so I can use it under my eyes and can cover up any redness I may have or any spots.

eyes-tips-and-tricks

Alright, now with the eyes section of this post we get into some of my real tips and tricks haha!

Covergirl Lash Blast ~ A cult classic, in waterproof of course, as well as the shade blackest black. I really am an advocate of waterproof mascara as you all know, but I always recommend going for the blackest black, even if you have really dark lashes already like me. It adds a deeper color and I think it really does make a difference. My trick with this is to get a mascara that you can build up how you like. This one for me can get clumpy (which I like) and with a few thousand coats I can just use this for an eye look instead of using eyeliner.

Kat Von D Tattoo Liner ~ In the shade Trooper. My favorite eyeliner on the high end. I prefer this brush to the Ink Liner which is more of a felt tip. But they are both just as good, just as pigmented, just as long wearing the only difference is the brush! This goes without saying but with this you can create a really nice dramatic look as well as a day look. You can do a cat flick, full on wing, or just line the eyes. Right there you have three looks with one simple product that doesn’t take up a lot of space.

Clinique High Impact Custom Kajal ~ I can’t remember the exact name of this product but it’s Black Brown (or something to that effect). It’s their new liner that I got a month or so ago. I never bring an eye shadow palette or eyeshadow crayon or anything like that when I travel. And the reason being is that I don’t like to bring a lot of brushes with me, because frankly I can never figure out how to store all of them properly and they take up a lot of space. So with this type of liner, you can tight line , line your water line, line your eye, line your eye and smudge it out with your finger or you can do a real smokey eye and go all over the lid and blend it out.

And with these three products I am able to get so many looks out of them for whatever mood I feel like that day and they don’t take up too much space and I don’t feel like I’m limited with my eye looks!

lips-tips-and-tricks

The next are all products I probably didn’t need to bring, but they were all new and I couldn’t leave them home!!

Make Up For Ever Aqua Lip ~ In the shade 3C. I love this pencil, it’s super creamy lasts all day and they have such an AMAZING shade range its ridiculous. This is a lovely nude more towards a brown-y pink shade. So right up my alley. I love this because I could wear it alone (which I usually do) or under another lip product I brought since this shade is very close to my natural lip color.

NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream ~ In the shade London. Everyone loves this product, including myself. We all know of this product and we all know how amazing the shade range is as well as how lovely they smell. So that’s all I am going to say about that.

Clinique Pop Matte Lip Color ~ In the shade Blushing Pop. Let me just say, I LOVE THESE> The shade range is incredible, the formula is amazing, it lasts an incredibly long time considering it is only a lipstick, the packaging is to die for it’s so small and compact, and the pigmentation is phenomenal. This is their nude shade and I love it because it is leaning towards the brown side. Definitely go to a counter and try them out!!

Chanel Perfume ~ Coco Mademoiselle. I first wore this to my first trip to South Carolina, so this scent will forever be attached to Charleston. All meaning I had to bring it, also it is literally the perfect size for travel.

tools-tips-and-tricks

Real Techniques Beauty Sponge ~ I must say, I like this one a lot more that I like the actual Beauty Blender… And it’s is so much more affordable. I love the way this makes my concealer look and how effortlessly it makes my makeup look.

Bobbi Brown Pencil Sharpener ~ Only because I brought my lip liner from Make Up For Ever. But I chose this one because it’s really tiny and doesn’t take up much space. It is also a great sharpener, it gets my lip pencils to a really nice point!

E.L.F. Shader Brush ~ To help smudge and blending out my eyeliner. I love love love this brush for smudging out my eyeliner. The little smudgers that come on the end of eyeliners always end up taking off the product but with this brush it does such a great job of doing what I want my eyeliner to do.

E.L.F. Small Concealer Brush ~ I actually don’t use this brush for concealer. I use this for my powder, I have in the past used it for my concealer and it does a great job with that. But I really like this for powdering under my eyes, it fits perfectly and distributes the perfect amount of powder.

Surratt Beauty Relevée Lash Curler ~ If you saw Wednesday’s post you will know how much I love this tool. And if you have learned anything about me from this blog you know I cannot live nor will not live without an eye lash curler.

And finally…

cleansing-tips-and-tricks

Lancôme Bi- Facil Double Action Makeup Remover ~ In the most adorable travel size you ever did see. I really love this for taking off my eye makeup. It does an incredible job at taking off waterproof mascara as well as liner. Big thumbs up!

Yes To Cucumbers Hypoallergenic Facial Wipes ~ Not only do they smell amazing but they do a nice job of taking off any excess makeup (after I have washed my face) and leaves my skin feeling clean and refreshed.

And that is everything! Phew! I know that was a lot but if you read all they way to the end, thank you because that was a lot to read and I wouldn’t blame anyone for just looking at the pictures.

I hope this helped / was interesting! I like to think that I have learned a few things about packing and traveling in my day and I am always one to pack light.

Until next time,

Cheers! xoxo

Amy

Leave a Reply

