Two Books I’ve Fallen In Love With!!

Happy Friday everyone!! I hope you had a great week! Today I wanted to talk about my main love, books!

Books, have a funny way of finding you when you need them. Both of these books I am going to talk about I have had in my collection for a while and as I perusing my shelves looking for something to read these two called to me and after reading them I’m amazed with how much I need to read these and maybe this is your sign to read them too.

winyiny-the-alchemist

The two books that I read this week are “what is not yours is not yours” by the brilliant Helen Oyeyemi and “The Alchemist” by Paulo Coelho. Both very different in their stories, their styles and subjects but I think they do have similarities (as most things do if you look hard enough).

As someone who is still gainfully unemployed and trying to find my path that makes my dreams and aspirations a reality (something that really hit home when reading “The Alchemist”) and all the horrible and horrific things that are going on not only in my country but countries all around the world reading “what is not yours is not yours” really helped instill hope that we are all connected in some way shape or form and the world might not be such a big scary place.

That might be the simplest way to describe two books that are so inspirational and deep and really make you think. “The Alchemist” follows the story of a boy who is stuck in his routine and life and keeps having this reoccurring dream about finding his personal  legend. And “what is not yours is not yours” is nine stories that tell different stories with different meanings but all connect in some brilliant way.

I don’t want to go into too much detail and give everything away. Just trust me if you find yourself in a bookstore or browsing online and you come across them don’t ignore the signs and read them. Especially if you are in a rut like I am. But what I’m gonna share some quotes that really spoke to me while reading them, I always read with a pen near me so I can underline lines that speak to me (plus when you go back and reread them you can see what you found the first time you read them), I have a lot but I thought I would share a few.

From “what is not yours is not yours”:

~”That went by; so can this.” page 141, is your blood as red as this? 

~”…he would give looks that asked Arkady to perceive the distinction between artist and entertainer.” page 161,  drownings

~”Before assuming ownership of a key you should look at it closely. Not only because you may need to identify it later but because to look at a key is to get an impression of the lock it was made for, and, by extension, the entire establishment surrounding the lock.” page 298, freddy barrandov checks… in?

 

From “The Alchemist”:

~”It’s the possibility of having a dream come true that makes life interesting…” page 13, Part One 

~”It’s a force that appears to be negative, but actually shows you how to realize your Personal Legend. It prepares your spirit and your will, because there is one great truth on this planet: whoever you are, or whatever it is that you do, when you really want something, it’s because that desire originated in the soul of the universe. It’s your mission on earth.” page 24, Part One

~”And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you achieve it.” page 24, Part One 

Until next time,

Cheers! xoxo

Amy

Leave a Reply

