Fiction Friday ~ The Secret!!

Happy Friday everyone! I hope you are all well and excited for the weekend! I had a really nice week, was quite productive if I do say so myself. But anyway, it’s another Fiction Friday and today we are talking about one of my absolute favorite authors of all time, the incredible Charlotte Brontë!! So let’s get to it!

bronte%cc%88-the-secret

Entitled “The Secret”, this is a series of six short stories that somewhat intertwine (in the first story we meet two characters named Arthur and Marian. Later on we meet Albion and Marina…she even catches herself in her writing which I loved: “On hearing these words, Arthur- Albion, I mean-…” Albion and Marina page 77). If you’re a first time Brontë reader, I wouldn’t suggest starting off with this. These stories were not published until years and years after her death because they were considered lost. The first two stories “The Secret” and “Lily Hart” were published in 1908, though were written around 1833. The other four stories were published alongside with these two in 1978. Which, I find fascinating and makes me love it even more.

Just to give you a little context, “Jane Eyre” was written/published around 1847. So this is definitely her early work and full of fantasies and supernatural experiences. Her writing is not yet as strong as is when she writes “Jane Eyre”, “The Secret” (as a whole) seems very young and fanciful. That doesn’t mean I love it any less but I am a bit biased since I’ve read “Jane Eyre” at a minimum of 200 times and she is one of my most beloved and favorite authors.

These classics are my favorite genre to read just because I am constantly falling in love with the language. (I mean, I’m getting my masters in Shakespeare for crying out loud… So not much of a surprise here) Because these stories are all linked together they follow women, narrated by what seems to be a man (all the Brontë sisters wrote under a pseudonym, fun fact hers was Currer Bell, so it’s not too much of a surprise that this particular set of stories in her early career is told from a man’s perspective until we get to “Jane Eyre” about fourteen years later) and follows a group of about ten or so characters that are related either by birth, marriage or friendship.

They deal with past horrors, duty, love and the supernatural forces (which I really enjoyed reading and Brontë does tend to like writing about). This is a terrible description but I don’t know what to say without giving everything away because they are so short and to talk about each one would give away every single thing haha!

So I am going to leave you with a few quotes that just makes me fall more and more in love with this language!

~ “She was deadly pale and might have passed for a beautiful marble statue, had not the tremor which shook every limb indicated that her form was of living flesh and blood.” –The Secret, page 31

~ “It was a clear and still night; the moon and stars were shining most brilliantly in a perfectly unclouded heaven, and their descending beams revealed the form of a human being stretched on the grass near a little wicket, which was open.” –Lily Hart, page 50

~ “The apparition vanished. It seemed to have appeared merely to assert her superiority over her rival, and indeed the moment Albion beheld her beauty he felt that it was peerless.” –Albion and Marina, page 83

~ “All was darkness except where the silver moonbeams showed a desolate and ruined apartment, instead of the elegant parlor that a few minutes before had gladdened his sight. No trace of Marina was visible, no harp or other instrument or harmony; and the cold lunar light streamed through a void space instead of the glass door.” –Albion and Marina, page 85-86

~ “Pity that the shadow of grief should ever fall where the light of such beauty shines.” –A Peep into a Picture Book, page 118

And that is it for today!! I hope you have a lovely weekend and maybe inspired to read some Brontë, you won’t regret it! :)

Until next time,

Cheers! xoxo

Amy

Leave a Reply

