Fiction Friday ~ Jane Eyre!!

Happy Friday everyone!! Today we are talking about one of my absolute favorite, beloved and definitely most read book the wonderful Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë! This is the book that I say is my favorite book of all time, if I’m asked to just choose one.

jane-eyre

I don’t know if you can tell from the picture, but this book is well loved and read quite often. It’s my most traveled book by far and by that I mean, it comes with me when I travel. So it’s been to a lot of places and a lot of countries. I bring this book with me basically everywhere for the sole purpose of I have read it so many times and I don’t get annoyed if I have to stop mid-sentence. Because, well, let’s get real I can pick this book up, open to any page and know exactly where I am in the story. If it’s a book I have never read before, I read at home where I can be uninterrupted because I can’t put down a book. When I open it, I have to finish it.

So with how many times I have read this amazing story I can jump in and out of the story and it doesn’t bother me.

I love it because I love the language and the character. Very seldom do I love a book solely because of the character and not the plot. Because this was written in the 1800s let’s get real, how exciting can a governesses life be, but I love Jane with all my heart. She is absolutely someone I aspire to be because of her character. Her strength, is what I admire most.

Jane, will not do something because it is expected or because it would be easier. Jane does what makes her happy. Her life throws a lot of curves at her and doesn’t start off with the loving of homes all children deserve. But through it all she stays true to herself and ends up happy because that is the option she gives herself.

Mostly I admire her strength to leave Mr. Rochester even though she loves him dearly and will never love another; because under the circumstances, she would not be able to live with herself if she does.

It’s a beautiful story, filled with love, loss, humor, a bit of the supernatural and so much strength and beautiful language. I highly recommend this book especially if you love English Literature (which is my speciality).

Here are three of my favorite quotes from the lovely Jane:

~ “I am no bird; and no net ensnares me: I am a free human being with an independent will.”

~ “I care for myselfThe more solitary, the more friendless, the more unsustained I am, the more I will respect myself.”

~ “I would always rather be happy than dignified.”

Until next time,

Cheers! xoxo

Amy

3 thoughts on “Fiction Friday ~ Jane Eyre!!

  1. Jane Eyre is my favourite novel as well. Jane Eyre has helped me through illness, loneliness, high school, college and distracted me from my disability. I first read it when I was 11 in 2000 on a long car journey and fell in love with both Jane and Edward. I have read it many times and I still love the story. I always learn something new every time I read it. Jane Eyre is my go to novel whenever the world gets overwhelming and I need to escape. I own 3 copies of the novel and I will always love it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love when stories are able to not only teach us new things about ourselves and/or the story but help us escape for a little while. I’m so glad you also found comfort in this story, I do as well. And haha I also love that you own multiple copies!! So do I!! I thought I was the only one haha! Xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I always find comfort from it because of the love story and also I think because Jane is strong and brave. It teaches me that no matter what life throws at you, you can get through it. I love that Jane gets her happy ending on her terms and nothing is sugar coated. I also find the language beautiful and romantic. I feel that Jane and Edward will love each other forever. In my opinion Jane Eyre is the best book in the world! How old were you when you first read Jane Eyre? How many copies do you have? My 3 copies are special because they were all given as gifts. One edition I bought myself because I loved it.😊❤

        Like

Leave a Reply

