Fiction Friday ~ Tess of the D’Ubervilles!!

Happy Friday everyone!! And welcome back to FICTION FRIDAY’S!!!! I don’t know about you but I am so happy to have it back! And today we are talking about my favorite Thomas Hardy novel, Tess!

Tess of the D'Ubervilles

I mean can we sense that I like strong female characters? Though characterized as a tragedy, Hardy writes the story of a young woman with her impoverished family in England. To quote David Gaelf, “Using rich poetic language to frame a shattering narrative of love, seduction, betrayal, and murder, Hardy tells the story of Tess Durbeyfield…” and I must agree that Hardy does just that using such gorgeous poetry. Published in 1891, the story takes part in seven different parts, which Hardy titles “Phases” and they flow beautifully.

This story of Tess is one of heartbreak and love and loss and without a doubt strength; in a time where women were so strong but not truly allowed to be. Tess gets thrown a lot of obstacles in her life and personally, I think she handles them with strength and grace. She takes the good and bad with dignity and lives without regret and has such faith in the world and life and love and herself.  Its a long read, but an amazing one at that, and extremely worth it in my mind. But then again, this is my favorite type of literature.

Let’s get to some of my favorite quotes:

~”Why didn’t you tell me there was danger in men-folk? Why didn’t you warn me? Ladies know what to fend against, because they read novels that tell them of these tricks; but I never had the chance o’learning in that way, and you did not help me!” -Phase the Second- Maiden No More, page 103

~”It was a passing summer love of her face, for love’s own temporary sake-nothing more.” -Phase the Third- The Rally, page 180

~”Could it ever be? Their two selves together, nothing to divide them, every incident shared by them; why not? And yet why?” -Phase the Fourth- The Consequence, page 245

Talking about books leaves me at a loss because these are just what I got from the book, it’s my opinions from my walk of life which is different from yours and I put my own life into the book and bring my own story to the characters. My usual instinct is to just tell people “Oh this book was phenomenal,  I loved it, you absolutely should read it”, which is why I started this series. To not only share my love of literature but to challenge myself to explain why I loved this book.

Until next time,

Cheers! xoxo

Amy

Leave a Reply

