Fiction Friday~ The Princess Diarist!!

Happy Friday everyone!! Happy Revenge of the Fifth and a belated May the 4th Be With You! Today I wanted to talk about one of my favorite movie franchises, favorite character, favorite actor/human being: Carrie Fisher, also known to some as Princess Leia.

The Princess Diarist

Not only is the novel brilliant because Carrie was a brilliant writer but the novel is brilliant as a huge fan of the movies and being able to relive the movies through the eyes of my favorite character in the films.

Throughout this book Carrie talks about making the films and what it was like to be so young and dealing with all of these adult responsibilities and dealing with life in general. Carrie Fisher kept journals of her time and this novel shares her journal from filming the first movie Episode IV A New Hope. She gives us some information before we jump into her journal and then some stories about life after the journal.

I read it in one night because, well, I do that with most books but the way Carrie writes, it feels like a conversation and I didn’t want to be the one who ended that special conversation. So I couldn’t, nor did I want to, put it down.

Any of her books are a great read and I highly recommend any of them. And as always here are some of my favorite lines from the book…

~ “So I did it like that, more sardonic than emotional. Fearless and like an actual human, but not serious. Ironic. Some chick from Long Island who’s not scared of you or anyone you might know.” -page 44

~ “I am the only one who can come to my rescue. I am the only one who can help me now.” -page 126

~ “You see I thought I was only seeing half the man But that was all there was to you… You took my breath away And now I want it back” -page 133

~ “I wish I could go away somewhere but the only problem with that is that I’d have to go, too.” -page 178

I still love Carrie Fisher to this day, I always will. She was who I aspired to be when I was a little girl. I didn’t want to be Cinderella, or Snow White (I did want to be Belle, but it was a really hard choice) I wanted to be Princess Leia. She was tough, strong, kind, sarcastic, independent and so intelligent. She was the only princess I ever dressed as for Halloween for several consecutive years, I might add. Mostly because my hair did the classic buns on their own  with my thick hair haha!

I grew up in a family of Science Fiction loving parents and they made sure I did too, and I’m so glad they did.

May The Fourth Be With You

Until next time,

May the Force Be With You

xoxo Amy

Leave a Reply

