Fiction Friday ~ “Amélie” on Broadway!!

Happy Friday everyone!! I hope your week is going wonderfully! Today, I wanted to talk about a show I saw on Broadway last week with my Momma.

Amélie a new musical

Based on the movie AmélieAmélie a new musical, is about a girl named Amélie an introverted dreamer who upon finding a previous owner’s hidden treasure in her apartment decides to be a selfless do-gooder in the world.

This is one of my absolute favorite movies of all time. It’s a beautifully uplifting, hopeful story and the movie is shot so artistically and very French, which I adore (I spent 6 years studying French and love the language and culture).

I was a bit nervous and very excited to see how they would fit a two hour movie that focuses on tiny details into a theatrical experience. I was nervous that they would leave important tiny details out or forget things.

I have never been more pleased with an adaptation than I have with this musical. The music is stunningly gorgeous, the script was practically perfect, the set was so detailed and beautifully, the acting was impeccable (not surprising because Phillipa Soo is incredible) I was truly impressed and so so happy to be in that theatre.

I was just so happy. This show makes you happy. This show makes you want to do good. This show makes you want to get up and spread kindness into the world. This show, is exactly what we need, especially in America.

I’m heartbroken that it is closing on May 21st, but so beyond grateful that I was able to see my favorite movie brought to life in the most beautiful way that left me in tears from curtain rise to curtain fall.

Momma&Me

Here’s a horrible picture of Momma and I in our seats at the show! Luckily she doesn’t read my blog and won’t see that I put this photo on the internet because she had a cold when we saw it, what a trooper!

Until next time,

Cheers! xoxo

Amy

Leave a Reply

