Fiction Friday ~ The Miniaturist!!

Happy Friday everyone!! I hope you are all doing well! Today I want to talk about the novel The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton!

The Miniaturist

Taking place in the late 1600s in Amsterdam; we follow a young woman named Petronella, or Nella for short, as she marries into the Brandt family that has more secrets than one would realize.

Nella of eighteen arrives to the Brandt house without her husband to greet her and instead is greeted by the very cold and stern Marin, Nella’s new sister-in-law. Her new husband gifts her a doll house that is an exact replica of their home as a wedding gift, which leads Nella to find the help of a miniaturist to help her furnish it. But the miniaturist seems to know more about Nella’s life at the Brandt house than Nella as secrets come out and things begin to unfold and unravel.

I thought that this novel was going to involve a love affair with the miniaturist, for some reason but I was so wrong and Jessie Burton is an exceptional writer that I couldn’t read it fast enough to find out what was happening. I’m quite a spoil sport when it comes to reading or watching a movie where I always try to figure out what is going to happen (because mostly things are quite predictable if you pay enough attention) but my goodness, so many of the twists I did not see coming and Jessie Burton writes this story and these characters so brilliantly.

If you enjoy novels that are set in this time period or really enjoy stories written from this time, you will really enjoy The Miniaturist. Jessie Burton writes this time like she was there herself and the whole novel feels very organic and is gripping until the very end.

And now, I need to find more books to read because those were all the new ones I had! So if you have any suggestions of what I should read next please let me know!

Until next time,

Cheers! xoxo

Amy

Leave a Reply

