Fiction Friday ~ Bridge of Clay

Hi Friends!

Oh my god, is she posting for two weeks in a row? Can she keep up the momentum? Is this joke getting old yet? Only time will tell…

Bridge of Clay

ANYWAY today I want to talk about Bridge of Clay by Markus Zusak. As always Zusak is an incredible story teller. He truly makes you care about his characters even if you think you won’t. I started reading this book about 5 brothers thinking I am personally over reading about men. And next thing I know I can’t put the book down, devouring it thinking Zuzak you’ve done it again.

His books are long and somehow not long enough. I could have read about this book of brothers for another few hundreds of pages. Unfortunately what I want to say is spoiler city and I am not sure how to talk about the book without giving spoilers so I will just say, that this is a heartwarming story about family, life, love, loss and all the things that make living hard. And wonderful.

I didn’t think that I would enjoy this story but Zuzak has such an incredible mastery of words that you just keep reading, keep getting attached to these characters, keep rooting for these brothers to have a win and next thing you know the book is finished and you want more. So if you’re looking for a good book and a great story that might be something different than what you normally read, I highly recommend anything by Markus Zuzak but especially Bridge of Clay.

As always here is my favorite quote from the book:

“Maybe its time that we don’t get to make these decisions… When we hit a piano key and it makes no sound, we hit it again, because we have to. We need to hear something, and we hope it isn’t a mistake.”

(I mean come ON! Right?!)

Until next time,

Amy

Leave a comment